Hey Readers, I Need Some Advice

I’ve been invited to an event — being thrown/hosted by a meetup aimed squarely at women. I’m fairly sure the reason the organizer invited me (other than me having an interest in line with the subject of the event) is that I read as female.

So now the question: do I go? Do I email her and say, “well, I don’t really identify as a woman, but if I’m still welcome, I’d love to attend”?

A bit of an edge is attached to this by the fact that I stand to make a good bit of money off this event if I do attend, and it’ll help the teeny craft business I’m trying to get off the ground. Is it better to keep my head down and pass to help my business?

This is kind of freaking me out. I feel like if I am honest and straightforward about my gender identity (or lack thereof) I might miss out on a really good opportunity for my biz, but it feels like if I stay quiet and just go, I’ll be selling out. I’m out to a handful of my local friends, in a low-key sort of way, so I don’t have to worry about that.

I know I have a couple of readers now… what do you folks think? I could really use some advice.

3 thoughts on “Hey Readers, I Need Some Advice

  1. Jamie Ray says:

    I’d go and network. You do not need to exclude yourself based on how you identify. I also don’t think you are doing anything dishonest or taking advantage of some odd sense of privilege to go. You were invited, and if you think it will help you, go.

  2. roseeks says:

    Thanks, Jamie Ray! It’s good to get an outside perspective. šŸ™‚ I’m gonna do it. Networking is important.

  3. […] an update on this post – I went to the event, it went pretty well, and I felt pretty good about it. The other people […]

Leave a Reply

